St. Lawrence probably originated as a small aisleless church in the 12th century. What is today visible is the result of the rebuilding of the 4 bay nave and chancel in the late 13th to 14th centuries. The aisles were added in approximately 1300. First the north aisle with alternating round and octagonal columns. Then the south aisle with elegant quatrefoil columns. The embattled clerestory was added in the 15th century and the original pitch of a lower roof is visible on the west wall of the nave. The tower and splay footed spire date to the mid 14th century, but was sadly reduced in height and capped in 1960 due to a partial collapse. The plan is completed with the addition of a possible 16th century chantry chapel on the north side of the chancel. The church underwent a thorough restoration in the 1870s.
There is a complete set of piscina, sedilia and aumbry in the chancel. Interestingly both aisles contain squints. A font with 16th century octagonal bowl stands by the south door. Outside are two well preserved ‘scratch’ dials meant originally to indicate the time of the Mass.
No grants applied for.
Cambridgeshire Historic Churches Trust is a registered charity, number 287486.